Open Government

    Illustration zu Open Government

    The concept of ‘Open Government’ means to open the actions of governments and administrations at national and regional level to civil society and the economy.

    Citizens can be directly involved at many levels of political action. In the best case, Open Government builds on the existing culture of political participation towards a culture of continuous cooperation between politicians, administration and civil society. Political participation remains almost exclusively limited to election dates.

    But it is not just civil society who stands to gain from from easier access to political decisions and active participation; the public sector can also use citizens’ expertise and knowledge to find better solutions to problems and to spark new initiatives.

    Advantages of Open Government:

    • Increased accountability and avoidance of corruption through open, transparent and comprehensible government action
    • Increased participation and legitimacy of political processes through openness and transparency
    • Improved political decision-making through co-creation by civil society, politicians and public administrators
    • Improved problem-solving capacity in public administration
    • More efficient and innovative public administration structures

    Status Quo in Germany

    In an international comparison, Germany is neither a pioneer in terms of open government action, nor in terms of access to open administrative data or the use of digital technologies. Germany scored 69 out of 100 points in the Open Budget Index and only 51 out of 100 in the Open Data Index. The dissemination of digital technologies in public administration and access to the fast Internet could also be improved in an international comparison. In 2013, the German government signed the G8’s Open Data Charter and joined the Open Government Partnership in 2016, but the provision of data in open formats has still not prevailed in all ministries and state authorities. There are some positive examples in the federal and state governments, such as the model community project of the federal government or the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, but they tend to be the exception. There is also a clear need for action with regard to freedom of information in Germany: In the Global Right to Information Rating it scored only 54 out of a possible 150 points. In three federal states, for example, there is no legal basis for access to official information (IFG). In contrast to other countries, there is also no lobby register or a publicly accessible business register in Germany.

    Further information

    Related projects

Offenes Regierungshandeln

    Illustration zu Offenes Regierungshandeln

    Das Konzept von „Open Government” meint, das Handeln von Regierungen und Verwaltungen auf nationaler und regionaler Ebene gegenüber der Zivilgesellschaft und der Wirtschaft zu öffnen. Im deutschen Sprachraum wird daher auch der Begriff „Offenes Regierungshandeln“ verwendet.

    Bürger*innen können auf vielen Ebenen des politischen Handelns direkt einbezogen werden. Im besten Fall kann Open Government die bisherige Kultur der politischen Teilhabe – fast ausschließlich auf Wahltermine begrenzt – zu einer Kooperationskultur zwischen Politik, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft ausbauen.

    Hinter dem Konzept steht das Ziel, die Arbeit von Politik, Regierung, Verwaltung und Justiz offener, transparenter, partizipativer und kooperativer zu gestalten.

    Aber nicht nur die Zivilgesellschaft kann vom einfacheren Zugang zu politischen Entscheidungen und einer aktiven Beteiligung profitieren; auch der öffentliche Sektor selbst kann die Expertise und das Wissen der BürgerInnen nutzen, um bessere Lösungen für Probleme und Vorhaben zu finden.

    Wir sehen vor allem folgende Vorteile durch Open Government:

    • höhere Rechenschaftspflicht und bessere Korruptionsvermeidung durch offenes, transparentes und nachvollziehbares Regierungshandeln
    • mehr Partizipation und gestärkte Legitimität politischer Prozesse durch Offenheit und Transparenz
    • bessere politische Entscheidungsfindung durch enge inhaltliche Zusammenarbeit von Zivilgesellschaft, Politik und Verwaltung
    • höhere staatliche Problemlösungskompetenz
    • effizientere und zukunftsfähige öffentliche Verwaltungsstrukturen

    Stand in Deutschland

    Im internationalen Vergleich ist Deutschland weder in Bezug auf offenes Regierungshandeln noch im Zugang zu offenen Verwaltungsdaten oder in der Nutzung digitaler Technologien Vorreiter. So erreicht Deutschland beim Open Budget Index 69 und beim Open Data Index nur 51 von 100 Punkten. Auch die Verbreitung von digitalen Technologien in der Verwaltung oder der Zugang zu schnellem Internet sind im internationalen Vergleich verbesserungswürdig. 2013 hat die Bundesregierung die Open Data Charta der G8 unterzeichnet und ist im Jahr 2016 der internationalen Initiative „Open Government Partnership“ beigetreten, doch nach wie vor hat sich die Bereitstellung von Daten in offenen Formaten nicht in allen Ministerien und staatlichen Behörden durchgesetzt. In Bund und Ländern gibt es einige positive Beispiele, wie das Modellkommunen-Projekt des Bundes oder das des Landes NRW, doch sie stellen eher die Ausnahme dar. Auch in Bezug auf die Informationsfreiheit besteht in Deutschland noch deutlicher Handlungsbedarf. So erreicht Deutschland im Global Right to Information Rating nur 54 von 150 möglichen Punkten. In drei Bundesländern gibt es beispielsweise keine gesetzliche Grundlage für den Zugang zu amtlichen Informationen. Auch gibt es im Unterschied zu anderen Ländern in Deutschland kein Lobbyregister oder ein öffentlich zugängliches Unternehmensregister.

    Weitere Informationen

    Verwandte Projekte