Civic Tech

    Illustration zu Civic Tech

    Civic Tech brings together digital innovations with governments and administrations to create new and better opportunities for citizens. Civic Tech applications, tools and services are in many cases powered by Open Data.

    The idea behind Civic Tech is simple: combine the untapped potential between state and civil society with the potential for technology to help us cope with everyday life and to offer new opportunities to interact and network.

    Civic Tech is developed by citizens, for citizens. These “Civic Hackers” are volunteer developers, designers and data enthusiasts with broad technical expertise. The software programs, devices and platforms they create simplify citizens’ everyday lives or improve communication and networking between citizens, communities, politicians and administrations. They give society better access to information and strengthen public discourse. One outcome of this is to enable greater political participation; another, to promote government transparency, which leads to accountability (see also: Open Government).

    In line with the open source approach, these tools are made freely available to the public. Others can use them and further develop them according to their specific needs, without having to take into account conditions or restrictions imposed by governments or companies.

    Further information

    Related projects

Civic Tech

    Illustration zu Civic Tech

    Civic Tech will neue Technologien und digitale Innovationen mit Regierungen und Verwaltungen zusammenführen, um zivilgesellschaftliche Interessen mit neuen und partizipativen Möglichkeiten besser umzusetzen. Offene Daten sind in vielen Fällen Fundament der dabei entwickelten Anwendungen, Werkzeuge und Dienste.

    Ehrenamtliche Entwickler*innen, Designer*innen und Daten-Enthusiast*innen nutzen ihre technische Expertise und entwickeln digitale Werkzeuge von Bürger*innen für Bürger*innen. Diese sollen der Gesellschaft einen besseren Zugang zu Informationen ermöglichen, die Kommunikation und Vernetzung zwischen Bürger*innen, Communities, Politik und Verwaltung vereinfachen und den öffentlichen Diskurs stärken. Einerseits wird dadurch mehr politische Teilhabe möglich, andererseits wird durch die entstehende Transparenz staatliche Rechenschaftspflicht begünstigt (siehe auch: Offenes Regierungshandeln).

    Im Sinne des Open-Source-Ansatzes werden diese Tools nicht nur von der Zivilgesellschaft gebaut, sondern auch der Öffentlichkeit frei zur Verfügung gestellt. Andere können sie dadurch nutzen und entsprechend ihren spezifischen Bedürfnissen weiterentwickeln, ohne dass dabei Auflagen oder Einschränkungen von Regierungen oder Unternehmen berücksichtigt werden müssen.

    Weitere Informationen

    Verwandte Projekte